What is CBT – Cognitive Behaviour Therapy?

My dearest readers,

Today I want to talk about CBT – Cognitive Behaviour Therapy that is one of my therapies I am practising and offering πŸ™‚ It helped me a lot and chances are it will help you as well, as it is a thorough therapy that will tackle your thoughts, behaviours and subsequently your actions towards living your life the way you want to live it. I have used it on several occasions and it’s something that really changes your perspective on your thoughts.

I am a firm believer of the fact that anyone can live his/her life fully and my mission is to help you make the necessary changes to live fully.

What actually is CBT?

Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) is a therapy that focuses on the way an individual thinks, behaves and acts in an attempt help him deal with various problems and break through negative belief systems. It is a short-term, goal-oriented intervention and focuses on a completely hands-on, practical approach to solving your problems. The important part is that no matter what you are going through, the approach is non-judgmental, supportive and encouraging. I am a firm believer of the fact that anyone can live his/her life fully and that my mission is to help you make that vital turn in your life.

Cognition stands for thinking: the monologue we have in our head (very often destructive and negative) and Behavioural part focuses on everything that you do and how you behave.

dsc_0127

What can CBT help youΒ with?

People often describe this process as a Β»liberation from their vicious cycles of intrusive thoughts and behaviourΒ«.

CBT and me as a CBT therapist can help you with:

  • Anxiety
  • Anger management
  • Chronic and Acute Pain Management
  • Depression
  • Interrelationship Issues
  • Panic attacks
  • Poor self-esteem
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Social Phobias
  • Some Medical Conditions
  • Fear of change (stuck in a certain life situation)
  • Negative thoughts that disables you to live your life fully

There are many other conditions and struggles CBT can help you with, but these are the most common challenges that are resolved with CBT.

How does CBT work?

dsc_0055_manjsa-50CBT focuses on the fact that particular thinking patterns cause symptoms by creating an altered image of the world and how then you perceive the world, which can cause various feelings of anxiety, frustration, fear and different behaviours. For instance, by thinking “A friend of mine completely ignored me today – she is just so ignorant and I wonder what I did to make her act in this way.” CBT can help you with a shift of this assumption into “She looked worried and absent – maybe I should give her a call and ask her if everything is alright.”

It empowers you to:

(1) become aware of your feeling and behaviours,

(2) to be able to calm the mind and body and finally,

(3) to help you break through repetitive patterns of negative thinking or behaviour.

The process of CBT varies but will generally go something like this: Firstly we will have one session free of charge so both you and me can see what can I help you with and for you to have your questions answered. Then we will look through what you want to change and establish your goals. And finally, on each session I will be there for you to guide you, support you and often give you homework until we will achieve your goal.

Did you say homework?

Homework is a very important part of therapy. People often think that us, therapists, need to do all the work and that success of therapy depends solely on us. We are here simply to help you see your life situation from a different perspective and guide you on your way to a life you always wanted to have. As such, you have work and awareness to do on a daily basis. But no worries – there are no wrong answers and everything is much more relaxed thanΒ in school (no negative points or wrong answers here!).

That sounds like a lot of work. I’m not sure I know how to do this.

045
I had a lot of limiting beliefs that were holding me back – I’m still applying CBT and other techniques daily in order to grow. For me, it’s a life long journey towards a better self (:

No really does, until they are in the process. Every change takes its time and its course. Also, even I didn’t know how to do this before and believe me, no one does. And this is where I come along to help and guide you: to explain everything thoroughly, let you know how you can improve and change and support you in doing so. There’s also time to ask questions and it is very important that you understand every step as our success greatly relies on that.

I know that this doesn’t sound like an easy thing to do. Changes are simple to someone but almost always uncomfortable and often even unbearable to others. The processΒ also depends on your situation and your needs. It is often not the easiest to make such thorough changes but everyone who went down this road always said it is so worth it. People often describe this process as a Β»liberation from their vicious cycles of intrusive thoughts and behaviourΒ«.

So for how long do I need to have CBT sessions?

As much as I would like to have an answer on this question, this really depends on what we are trying to change and achieve, as well as on how an individual responds to therapies. The best results are visible between 12 to 24 sessions. Your success towards our goal also greatly depends on your willingness and determinism to combat the undesired thoughts/behaviours/condition.

Doesn’t that soundΒ the same as Psychotherapy and Counselling?

CBT is different from other therapies and counselling because it focuses on Β»here and nowΒ« and not on the events in the past, whereas Psychotherapy and Counselling greatly rely on the analysis of the past events. We will cover some events that shaped you but we won’t be focusing on them during most of CBT therapies.

I feel uncomfortable sharing these thoughts and behaviours with you – I have never shared these with anyone and I feel uncomfortable sharing such personal information with a complete stranger.

I was going through the same when I was searching for my Coach. No worries here because as a therapist I am obliged to maintain confidentiality with you. That means I am not allowed to share what we are discussing to anyone (family, friends or any other practitioner). The only exceptions are if there is a significant risk to the safety of you, me (therapist) or others.

018
Embrace your life and make it amazing, make it breathtaking! (:

If you have more questions about CBT, I’ll be more than happy to answer them. Contact me via e-mail: info@worldnaturelle.comΒ to learn how you can book an online session with me πŸ™‚

I’m really excited to say that CBT is one of practices and it is already available onlineΒ πŸ™‚ I didn’t intend this post to be about me, so here is a link where you can learn more about me and my story.

Let me know if I can help you in any way and until then, enjoy your life! Oh, and you can follow me here for daily updates, right after the quote (:

“Love yourself – you are such an amazing person!” – Tina Suklje

TWITTER

FACEBOOK

INSTAGRAM

Type to you soon loves,

Tina @ WorldNaturelle

Copyright Β© 2015-2016 WorldNaturelle. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

