Mango ice cream anyone? (:

Dear nature lover,

I have been around a lot, moving, travelling and subsequently, haven’t been very good at writing my Blog. Since my travellings were/are getting more frequent, I decided to post more about that on my other blog, which you can check out here should you wish to do so 🙂

IMG_9478

So, this is today’s writing space: Jardin Public, Bordeaux

Finally a food related post 🙂 Today I made my very first Mango ice cream / sorbet and I really wanted to share the simplicity of making it 🙂 Not only is it good, insanely healthy, but it is also super easy to make!

Why mango?

image

The first time I moved to France I was really surprised to discover that there two particular flavours that kept on popping up: mango and coconut. I absolutely love both of them! But since its summer and really hot, coconut just doesn’t do it for me – I am in a need of something refreshing. Like mango 🙂 So what are the health benefits of this beautifully coloured fruit? Not only is it super tasty, it is known to feed the good bacteria in the gut and aids digestion, protects eyesight due to beta-carotene and Vitamin C. It is also known to boost the immune system and some researches even suggest that it has anti-cancer actions.

imageWhat do you need?

1 mango (makes 2 big scoops)

Blender

Freezer (:

This recipe makes only for about two big scoops, so if you want more, you’ll need more mangoes. I still found that cheaper, not to mention much healthier than if bought in the store.

How do you make it?

1. Chop Mango in the cubes and place it in a plastic bowl.

2. Place it in the freezer overnight or for about 6 – 7 hours.

3. Once it is frozen, put it in the blender and blend it. You can add either sugar or honey to taste, if your mango is sour or you have a sweet tooth 🙂

4. After you’ve blended it finely, you’ll find it very easy to scoop it out 🙂

5. Bonne appétit! 🙂

image

The texture is amazing – I was honestly expecting it to be more watery, but it is just perfect! I can’t wait to try this with other more creamy fruits, such as banana, avocado etc. Your limit is only your imagination 🙂 That being said, I will not use watery fruits or juices of the fruits as they are more suitable for pop sickles.

Hope you enjoyed it as much as I did – so yummy! It is a strong ice cream, but there are only goodies in there. I find that absolutely spectacular! No need to feel guilty 🙂 That is it for now my dear nature enthusiasts 🙂 If/when I make something new, I shall post it. Type to you soon 🙂

“A healthy outside starts from the inside.” – Robert Urich

Tina@WorldNaturelle

For daily photos and recipes, you can follow me on

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Copyright © 2015 WorldNaturelle. All rights reserved.

Reference:

Curtis, S., Thomas, P. & Vilinas, D. (2013). Healing foods: Eat your way to a healthier life. London: DK.

 

Leave a Reply

