Spring Herb n.1: Stinging Nettles

Dear readers,

I’ve had quite a journey in my last couple of months 🙂 I relocated to the lovely french countryside where I am enjoying the nature, the animals and well, the fresh herbs of course 🙂 It has been too long since my last post and so I decided I will update my blog with the lovely descriptions and photographs I post on my Instagram, Facebook and Twitter accounts. When it comes to blogging, I tend to write these long essays, articles even, and then I need ages to get myself behind the computer and post something.

Anyways, read on for tips on Spring detox through herbal remedies, foods and mental detox in spring time 🙂

image

So here I am and today I will focus on the first fresh herb in spring that I’ve used: Stinging Nettles (Urtica dioica). Why stinging? If you don’t know the answer to that, then you’re one individual that hasn’t been stung by a Nettle 🙂 I believe we’ve all tried the Nettle’s sting on our skin and it is definitely not something one would enjoy doing. I’ve written about Nettle before, so this article shouldn’t be too long 🙂

What is Nettle and why is it good for you?

It is used internally as a diuretic and can help with the support of kidneys. It is also good (both internally and externally) for rheumatism and arthritis and it is good for the formation of red blood cells. Many even refer to it as “energy tonic” as in spring the herb is rich in Magnesium, Potassium, Iron and Silicon. Externally it is a traditional remedy for rheumatism and arthritis.

Where and when can you find Nettles?

image

Absolutely everywhere; woods, forests and meadows. On the photo above, you can see how many of them I found on the damp floor. I would suggest avoiding collecting Nettles in very dry areas.

So often it happens with many amazing herbs that they are everywhere and we aren’t even aware of their value. The best time to collect it is in the spring when it is the richest in vitamins and minerals. Leaves can be used in a tea, either fresh or dried. I usually use scissors to cut them off and always have an empty bowl with me. I do suggest you have gloves on you while doing so 🙂

How can you use it?

image

Internally as a tea or as a healing food instead of spinach (just don’t eat it raw!). Externally it was traditionally used as a remedy for arthritis and rheumatism. Quite a painful remedy, but it is said to really boost circulation.

Nettle tea anyone?

The taste is a bit different from teas you are used to. Even if you bought Nettle tea (for instance, Clipper) fresh Nettle tea will be significantly different. It doesn’t not have a bad taste, but you will need one cup to get used to it 🙂 I would definitely suggest it not only as something different you may try, but a great way for the intake of the essential spring minerals and vitamins as well as a detox.

image

I often combine Nettle with other spring goodies: Cleavers (Sticky willy), detox and diuretic Dandelion and I’ve even combined it with horsetail when I had UTI (Urinary tract infection). Here are two photos of lovely Nettle tea in combination with other herbal goodies : on the first one it’s a cough blend with Plantain, Yarrow and Lungwort 🙂 the second one is Nettle with Dandelion, for diuretic and detox properties. I’ve even tried it with my morning green tea and it blends lovely 🙂

image

My plan was and still is, to harvest as many Nettles as possible, dry them and then use them throughout the year as tiny spring leaves are the best to use in tea 🙂 I do have many hours of work in nature to do! And this is just one of the many places I intend to get my Nettles from 🙂

image

That is a quick peak into lovely spring Nettles, number one of the must-eat and drink spring herbs 🙂 Stay tuned, more of spring beauties are yet to come, alongside with food tips for a spring detox. Enjoy your spring days and love yourself 🙂

“Spring is a time to find out where you are, who you are and move toward where you are going.” – Penelope Trunk

****Update****

Due to many questions I receive, I am now offering a free session – since this article I’ve became a Herbalist, Life Coach and Healthy Foodie and would love to chat with you! It can be about this article, any questions you may have, about food, herbalism or life coaching 🙂 You can book your session here. Yay, I’m really excited to be speaking with you! 🙂 p.s.: check out my brand new website 🙂

Tina@WorldNaturelle

For more frequent updates, you can follow me on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram (:

Copyrights © 2015-2017 WorldNaturelle. All rights reserved.

References:

Fleischhauer, S. G., Guthmann, J. &  Spiegelberger, R. (2007). Uzitne rastline iz narave: prepoznavanje, nabiranje in uporaba 200 najpomembnejsih vrst [Edible plants from the nature: recognising, harvesting and application of 200 most used species]. Ljubljana: Mladinska knjiga.

Willfort, R. (1978). Zdravilne rastline in njih uporaba [Healing plants and their application] (original tittle; Gesundheit durch Heilkräuter : Erkennung, Wirkung und Anwendung der wichtigsten einheimischen Heilpflanzen). Maribor: Založba Obzorje Maribor.

3 thoughts on “Spring Herb n.1: Stinging Nettles

Leave a Reply

