Do you have Thyme? :)

My dear nature lovers,

Yesterday I made a Thyme syrup which can usually be bought at most health food stores. I initially wanted to add the recipe for Thyme syrup in this post, but then decided that it will be too crowded 🙂 Thyme recipe can be found here and in this post you can learn everything there is to know about the use of thyme as a herbal remedy. Thyme can help you with the healing of respiratory infections, such as chesty colds, bronchitis, asthma, flu, sinus infections. Read on for the healing tips 🙂

Why is Thyme so amazing?

Thyme (Thymus vulgaris) is my favourite culinary herb 🙂 imageIt’s very well known in kitchen, herbal medicine and aromatherapy. It has loads of amazing properties, such as antiseptic, antimicrobial, antibiotic and antitussive, and these are just some of them. It is amazing for treating respiratory infections, because it loosens and expels mucous, which is crucial for asthma, bronchitis, a cold, flu, coughs and even sinus infections.

Due to its antibacterial properties, it is claimed that Thyme is effective against Streptococcus mutans, E. coli, Staphalococcus aureus and Bacillus subtilis.

Not only is it good for the respiratory infections, but it also helps with rheumatism, muscle and joint pains and it is also known as a wound healer. There is more; it can also aid digestion and excess gas in both children and adults. Amazing isn’t it? 🙂 Therefore, when using it, it can help various conditions.

Herbal remedies: Thyme for respiratory infections

There are many ways of using this versatile herb 🙂 I just can’t express it enough how important this herb is in my healing process 🙂

  1. TeaYarrow and thyme tea

You can make a regular infusion (one tsp per 250ml of water), sweeten it with some honey and that’s it. I remember drinking this tea late at night and I had a few cups of this tea and then I started spitting out the unnecessary mucous. I know, it’s a bit gross, but it is a very important part of the healing process when having bronchitis. I’d recommend drinking Thyme tea three times a day.

2. Inhalation

You can try the inhalation with the usual infusion (one tsp per 250ml of water) or make it a bit stronger, pour the boiling water over the dried herb and cover it with the plate for ten minutes. This is important, as if you start with the inhalation straight away, it will be too hot and you won’t be able to breathe. When 10 minutes have passed, get a towel and cover your head with it. imageNow you are ready to start with the inhalation. You can do that for 5 minutes or more, 10 or even 15. Inhalations really do help; today I could feel how my sinuses are opening up (they were blocked for about six months).

You can also try the inhalation with the thyme essential oil, but it was too strong for me. Which is why I would recommend making the inhalation with the dried thyme. Or fresh one, if you’re lucky enough to have it 🙂 I would suggest doing the inhalation three times daily when the condition is serious (pain in the chest, painful coughs, discharge, fever, sweating etc.). After the inhalation, it is good if you wrap yourself up and go into bed, with hot water bottle. Also avoid going out after the inhalation or breathing in the cold air.

If you like to reuse, you can just leave whatever of the herb is left for your next inhalation;I always do it.

3. Thyme syrup

Amazing to help you clear the mucous from the lungs, calm your cough and help you to recover. If you have a sore throat, this will be such a relief to have at home 🙂 It is also very easy to make. The recipe can be found here 🙂

image

3. Thyme Bath

If you’ve been following me on Instagram, Twitter or Facebook, you could see that I make daily herbal baths 🙂 I make them with macerated oils, essential oils and herbal infusions. Here are just some ideas for the baths that include Thyme 🙂 The thing that I love most about herbal baths when I’m sick, is that they kind of work as an inhalation. Of course it is not as concentrated as it is for an inhalation “on land”, but it can be very effective, relaxing as well as nourishing for your skin – and you will also smell nice 🙂

4. Aromatic culinary herb

When I first started cooking with Thyme, it was a bit different. Just a couple of times and I was hooked to this amazing herb 🙂 I add it to poultry, pasta and in some soups 🙂 An onion, garlic and thyme soup is really important in the process of healing, and I’ll write the recipe for this amazing immune booster in the following days.

Immune booster soup

5. Add it to the diffuser
If you have one, adding three drops to the diffuser will be great contribution to the healing of your lungs. Since it is a very strong essential oil, I would only suggest it for an hour or a couple and only one time a day. I like to be playful with my diffuser and the essential oils; when I feel that I’m getting sick I like to dab either thyme, Eucalyptus or Lavender essential oil.image

And that’s why the Thyme is so essential to me 🙂

I hope some of these tips will help you in your process of healing. Remember; healing in natural way sometimes has its limits and precautions, so if your condition is persistent, do visit a herbal medicine doctor or your doctor. It has happened to me that I’ve been postponing the visit to the doctor before and it took me much longer to recover later on. Just be aware of your condition and do what’s best for you to get better 🙂 I wish you to get better soon, if you’re experiencing respiratory infections. Let me know how these herbal remedies work for you 🙂

“Every breath is a giveaway dance between you and the plants.” – Susun Weed

With lots of love,

Tina @ WorldNaturelle

Copyright © 2015 WorldNaturelle. All rights reserved.

References:

Curtis, S., Green, L., Ody, P. & Vilinac, D. (2011). Neal’s Yard Remedies: Cook, Brew, and Blend your own herbs. London: DK.

Curtis, S., Thomas, P. & Vilinac, D. (2013). Healing foods: Eat your way to a healthier life.  London: DK.

Fleischhauer, S. G., Guthmann, J. & Spiegelberger, R. (2007). Essbare Wildpflanzen. Munich: AT Verlag.

 

 

One thought on “Do you have Thyme? :)

Leave a Reply

