#7 DIY: Make your own Natural Beeswax Candle with healing effects

Dear Nature lovers,

I’m back with a slightly different but still natural product. This time I made candles from natural beeswax. Check out how to simply make your own candle, what do you need to do that and above all, how to do that.Β Did you know that the beeswax candles are not only more natural but also healthier?

Lavender Candle

What do you need?


Beeswax
. Such a lovely scent! It smells so honey-yummy that you’ll want to eat it πŸ™‚ I’ve always loved candles and I still have many other candles. I just have so much beeswax at the moment and love to do my own things whilst being creative so I figured I’m gonna give it a go. I didn’t even know that the most of the candles can be quite harmful in releasing various toxins into our air. Did you know that? Beeswax, on the other hand, can help with drawing the toxins out of the air. If you click the lastΒ reference below, you can read the exact description on what’s happening when the beeswax is melting. I know that besides many other properties, it can actually reduce the effects of allergies and hay fever. How amazing is that? We have all this nature available and yet, we had to change it. Anyhow, we are getting more and more aware and now we can genuinely appreciate and reward nature by using its lovely products πŸ™‚

You can get beeswax in the form of either pellets of blocks. For the 100% beeswax candle I decided to use the blocks because they smelled wonderful of honey. BeeswaxI bought mine at Earth Natural FoodsΒ (for more info on prices and comparison with G. Baldwin & Co, check out this post). And as for my Relaxing blend, I used the pellets; they are easier to work with but have less of a pure honey scentΒ than the blocks. Which was perfect for my aromatic mixture! πŸ™‚ I bought them through Mystic Moments and the brand is BiOrigins; they are unrefined and 1kg cost me Β£15. The colour is gentle peach and the scent is a bit honey like but very very subtle. Also, the pellets are very small which makes it a good contributing factor in terms of time. The first pellets I bought at the G. Baldwin & Co and they were bright yellow and have much of honey scent. I do have their beeswax block, so I’ll be trying that one out and will let you if it is any better than their pellets. It does smell better than pellets. πŸ™‚ I like the BiOriginsΒ so far and it’s always a challenge for me which one I’ll use:
either the pellet one that doesn’t have the strong scent, is easier and quicker to work with or the pure blocks that smell so nice that you just want to eat them. I mainly use the blocks as I am a “get as natural as you possibly can”. Even if that’ll take you a couple of more minutes. Anyway, it’s always up to you and the time, energy you have as well as the quality of beeswax you are looking for. All in all, I will be looking into buying beeswax from a beekeeper in some smaller town/village in the UK.

The next thing that is a must are wicks. Where to buy them? I found them on Amazon, and below this description is the link to the brand I used. So far so good, but they are a bit small so if you plan on using bigger jars, you’ll need a longer wick. Unfortunately I am not the best in assessing the length, but I would say it is too small to use it for a classic tea mug (just a cm or two). The brand is called Gedeo and the wicks are good because they are already covered with wax, making them much easier to work with, due to not having to hold them at the right angle until the beeswax hardens. Even though I am happy with my purchase, the brand surprised me as I got a completely different package than the one showed at the picture on Amazon. It seems there’s one additional brand or maybe they just have an additional business partner, which was a bit unpleasant for me: I want to get exactly what I saw on the day of purchase. However, I am happy with the product, but still believe that the product on the website should always match the one you get.

One of the crucial elements is of course the jar you’ll pour your beeswax in. You have a variety of interesting and lovely jars to choose from in several stores or you can always go eco and re-use one of the jars from your kitchen that you’re no longer using. Beeswax candle kitThat’s what I did for two of my jars: one was re-used from a desert I once bought in France (CrΓ¨me brulΓ©e, yummy!) and the other is a re-used jar of one of the body balms I’ve finished.

The essential oils aren’t always essential. It depends on what do you want from a candle: do you want it to have special effects (aka Aromatherapy – calming, relaxing, stimulating, warming) or do you just like to have something lit up? I’ve tried both options because I like it both, depending on the mood and needs πŸ™‚ Since I am (too) often nervous, I made an all time wonderful blend of my own: Lavender, Benzoin and Sandalwood. I wrote about LavenderΒ (Lavandula officinalis) on many occasions, its properties and wonderful scents. ItΒ has antiseptic properties, calming, especially in terms of calming the anger. In terms of its healing properties it is good for respiratory problems, period pains and pain in general as it deals effectively with muscular spasms and has been long used to keep the insects at bay as well as a remedy for insomnia. On top of all that, it smells wonderfully πŸ™‚ BenzoinΒ (Styrax benzoin) has a very sweet scent and it has a calming effect on the nervous system. On top of that, it is well known for helping with respiratory problems, warming effect to the body, is used as a UTI disorders and even has a calming effect on the digestion. The last in the terms of proportion to the blend but not the least, is the Sandalwood. I didn’t have the well known Santalum album, but have Amyris Balsamifera, known as “West Indian Sandalwood” that has many identical (if not the same) properties as the original sandalwood and is also being sold under the same name. As Lavender and Benzoin, Sandalwood is also known for its soothing effects on nervousness and anxiety, making it a wonderful contribution for anyone feeling stressed. It can also help with chest infections, can treat heartburn and is useful in genito-urinary conditions.

While writing all this, I can’t help but wonder why do two of the above described essential oils have healing effects for the genito-urinary tract disorders? And what these conditions have in common are the two essential oils that are used for treating nervousness, relaxation and anxiety. Interesting thought as I have had countlessΒ conditions in the past and still have some in the present. I have noticed, on several occasions, that when I am stressed, these two areas are the ones affected the most and deteriorate when I am feeling stressed. I believe that the genito-urinary conditions, together with the stomach disorders, are for many people the organs who always carry the consequences of our worries and nervousness as they tend to be the organs where nervous tension lingers.

How much time do you need to make a candle?

It depends on the wax, whether it is in the form of pellets or blocks. For the three blocks, it took me around 20 – 30 minutes to melt them at low fire. As for the pellets, it takes approximately 5 minutes, give or take two minutes. Altogether I would say you do need from half an hour to one hour.

How do you do it?

You need to have a bain-mairie (a pot with hot water and above that a glass bowl where you put the beeswax on), put it on low fire, add the beeswax and wait patiently for it to melt.

How to melt beeswax blocks

And just observe how the shapes are changing when beeswax is melting. I wish I could post this wonderful scent! πŸ™‚

Melting beeswax

… Wait a little bit longer …

How to melt beeswax

… And your nearly done πŸ™‚

In between, sterilise your jars and prepare the wick(s). Some tie the wick around the pencil to make it stable. I decided to try it the non-helping way just to try it out πŸ™‚ When I had most of my wax melted, I poured just a little bit of wax in the jar, so the wick was stable.

Candle making layers of beeswax

After that, I waited for the beeswax to melt and poured it into the jar in several layers, always waiting for the previous one to get solid.

How to make beeswax candle2

This is the second layer with hot beeswax …

Candle making natural beeswax

… And now that it’s solid, I can pour the last layer.

How to make beeswax candle

… And just like that, my Beeswax candle is done! πŸ™‚

When I was finished, I waited for beeswax to get slightly solid and put the jar outside, as my kitchen was really hot.

Natural beeswax candle

The candle with essential oils was made the same way, except that the beeswax melted way faster. For this one I prepared 30ml jar where I put approximately 60ml of beeswax pellets. On the first picture you can see the first layer that is meant to hold the wick in its place.Β Lavender, Benzoin and Sandalwood in beeswax candleAnd at the end, when it was melted, I removed it from the heat, waited for the wax to cool down for a minute and added my essential oils. YouΒ always want to add essential oil at the, when the beeswax is cooling down and just before it starts to get solid. The same procedure goes with the creams. After adding 10 drops, make sure to stir up the mixture and pour it in the jar. Just when I finished topping up the jar, the beeswax got solid. And that’s when I noticed many drops of the essential oils “stuck” in the leftovers (it got solid in the same spot where I was pouring it out). Since I don’t like to waste anything, especially the lovely scent of these oils, I gently reheated the mixture and topped up the jar completely. That’s what you can see in two corners, the later-on added beeswax that was already solid.

Lavender, Benzoin and Sandalwood in beeswax candle2

And that’s about it. Here are my “Bee happy” …

Beeswax candle

… and “I feel so Relaxed” candles πŸ™‚

Lavender Candle

I’ve just lit up my “I feel so Relaxed” candle and it does smell very nice, although the scent is very gentle. Next time I’ll probably add more of the essential oils. When I have a more established recipe on the quantity of essential oils, I’ll keep you posted. πŸ™‚

****Update****

Due to many questions I receive, I am now offering a free session – since this article I’ve became a super passionate Herbalist, Life Coach and Healthy Foodie and would love to chat with you! It can be about this article, any questions you may have, about food, herbalism or life coaching πŸ™‚ You can book your session here. Yay, I’m really excited to be speaking with you – I love meeting new people and chatting everything healthy! πŸ™‚

Tina

There are two ways of spreading the light: to be the candle or the mirror that reflects it.” – Edith Wharton

Copyright Β© 2015-2017 WorldNaturelle. All rights reserved.

References:

Sellar, W. (1992).Β The Directory of Essential oils. Saffron Walden: The C. W. Daniel Company Ltd.

http://www.mommypotamus.com/diy-beeswax-candles-easy-healthy-and-affordable/

http://www.motherearthliving.com/your-natural-home/making-beeswax-candles-with-essential-oils.aspx

http://empoweredsustenance.com/beeswax-candles-and-allergies-an-effective-solution/

One thought on “#7 DIY: Make your own Natural Beeswax Candle with healing effects

Leave a Reply

