#4 DIY: Refreshing Peppermint & Almond Shower/Shaving Oil

Hi there,

As promised from my last post, I have tried new version of a fresh 100% Natural Shower oil (one time application). This time I was searching for a more refreshing type since it was a very hot day and while riding a train home I was dreaming about a refreshing shower and thought of a quite an interesting one. This one is different from my previous post (#3 DIY: Shower Gel) since it is more of a shower oil than a gel, is refreshing and can be at the same time used as a shaving oil that will leave your skin grateful for trying out this blend.

What do you need?

– Fresh peppermint (Mentha x piperita) – Sweet almond oil (Prunus amygdalus dulcis)

IMG_3721You can buy fresh Peppermint leaves in any health food store or even in your local store due to its popularity. Peppermint is just one of the many different mints and is widely known and popular due to its refreshing scent and used for culinary, medicinal and cosmetic properties. In terms of medicinal use it is often used as a après-repas aka after meal tea for calming the digestive tract, as a part of herbal blend for relieving the pain during period as well as a calming tea for nerves.

Almond oil is one of the best known carrier oils (after the sunflower and olive oil). It’s colour is very bright yellow and it doesn’t have any special scent. It is a very rich and nourishing oil, especially good for dry and sensitive skin and is known to soothe and cleanse the skin. It’s a very gentle oil, suitable for dry, irritated and even a skin of a baby. I bought it at Baldwins’ and got 500ml for £6.39, however at this point I didn’t buy an organic one. For the latter one you’ll pay £17.99 for the same quantity.

Preparation time?

5 – 20 minutes (Depending on the length of the steeping of the peppermint infusion)

How?

You’ll need approximately 2 table spoons of peppermint leaves; tear them by hand in order to get the most out of them and place them in a bowl/mug. My grandmother taught me that I should never cut lettuce or herbs with a knife due to the loss of the medicinal and/or nourishing properties of the herb/vegetable and to tear them with bare hands instead. I never verified this fact, however, I always feel it is better and more natural to do it this way. Next step is to boil 2 1/2 dcl water and pour it over the fresh herbs and allow it to steep for 5 minutes or even longer, depending on how strong aroma do you want to have (can leave it to steep for as long as 20 minutes if you wish). Add 1 1/2 tbs of almond oil and mix well; the oil will float on the surface anyway, but I like to stir it up a bit. Take the bowl with your refreshing shower oil to the bathroom and add a bit of a cold water (the mixture itself is very hot), spray yourself slightly with water and apply the shower oil; you’ll notice that the mixture is a bit green which looked amazing to me since I’m an absolute lover of all the greeneries. I also used the shower oil as a shaving oil and it went very smooth and easy. Your skin is left nourished and not even a little bit dry. After that I used one of the Lavender creams I’m making (recipe coming soon I hope 🙂 ), since my skin has always been very dry and I like to nourish it.

Results

After showering you’ll find your skin very refreshed and at the same time nourished, a bit oily. One thing I never liked about refreshing shower gels is that they left my skin feeling dehydrated. This one, however, is both refreshing and leaving your skin rich, nourished and shiny.

Do not expect a foam or a really strong scent on your skin afterwards: these are natural ingredients without the added perfumes. There are ways to make the scent stronger. You can either (1) add essential oil(s), (2) steep the herbs for a longer period of time and/or (3) make a stronger infusion by adding extra amount of peppermint. For instance, instead of 1 1/2 tbs you can add 3 tbs etc.

That’s all, I hope you enjoy your next shower as much as I have while discovering and trying out this shower and shaving oil. Let me know how this recipe worked for you. And don’t forget about the wisdom of the Yogi tea:

Be proud of who you are.” – Today’s Yogi quote

Be writing soon (:

Tina

Copyright © 2015 WorldNaturelle

References:

Curtis, S., Green, L., Ody, P. & Vilinac, D. (2011). Neal’s Yard Remedies: Cook, Brew, and Blend your own herbs. London: DK.

Curtis, S., Johnson, F., Thomas, P. (2015). Neal’s Yard Remedies: Beauty book. London: DK.

Parragon Books (2013). The Herb Bible. China: Love food.

One thought on “#4 DIY: Refreshing Peppermint & Almond Shower/Shaving Oil

Leave a Reply

