# 2 DIY: Natural home-made make up remover

Dear nature lover(s),

Today I’ll talk about one recipe for the DIY make up remover that I’ve come across at the Baldwin’s website. I have found the recipe very useful and strongly recommend it to anyone that is applying nature to all levels of his/her life.

What do you need?

For this recipe you only need three things: Aloe very Gel, Jojoba oil and a jar for the product.

Make up remover

Aloe Vera Gel is known for its repairing and cooling effects on skin. That is due to its anti-inflammatory ingredients that enable the skin to soothe sunburns, burns, eczema and even heal wounds. Fresh gel is obtained from the leaves, but this is not the only product of Aloe Vera; you can find many skin products that include Aloe Vera juice which has many good effects on skin as well. On this occasion I bought the Aloe Pura’s Organic Aloe Vera Gel which cost me £5.77 and was disappointed to discover, only at home, that it has many additional ingredients to aloe Vera that I do not approve of. Since I was in n organic/bio store I for once forgot to check the ingredients section which usually doesn’t happen to me – lesson learnt! That way I discovered that I should avoid contact with eyes which is kind of ironic given the fact that I mainly use mascara. So what to do? Well, I rinse my face thoroughly with water, put the make-up remover on the wool pad and clean around the eyes, avoid direct eye contact and don’t rub the eyes with the wool pad. I definitely recommend you to pay close attention and buy only 100% Aloe Vera Gel.

Jojoba oil is a carrier oil just like Coconut, Olive, Sunflower oil etc. which means that these oils are neutral and often used as a carrier oil for essential oils. howThe latter need to be diluted in carrier oils since their concentration is too intense for the skin. Jojoba oil is very rich in proteins and minerals and has moisturising properties as well as protects and repairs the skin. Even though it is recommended for all skin types I would say that those with dry skin can gain best with its use. I bought 50ml at Baldwin and it costs  £6.65. It looks similar colour to sunflower oil. In this recipe it is used for its gentle and easy to break down make-up effects.

How?

The recipe is very simple. First you need to sterilise your jar. Then add 1 cup of aloe very gel and 1/2 cup of jojoba oil: I’ve put the same proportion of both in a 15ml tin for the above mentioned reasons (inappropriate aloe vera gel) and to see if the recipe works. Both of the ingredients were room temperature and they were very easy and quick to mix together. And voilà, here is your DIY natural make-up remover. Try storing it in a cool place.

make up remover

I’m using this make-up remover even though I have inappropriate aloe vera gel for this purpose. However, only on one occasion have I noticed my eyes to be slightly red-ish and I am paying close attention to this effect. Like stated above, buy 100% aloe vera gel and hopefully you’ll come to the same conclusion as I have: make-up is easily removed, you can feel soothing and cooling effect of Aloe Vera Gel on your skin and above all, the overall great feeling of putting mainly natural ingredients on your skin and consequently in your body. All in all, I strongly recommend this recipe for all à-la-nature enthusiasts since it does the job properly, is quickly made, easy to store and affordable.

Good luck and please do share your experiences with this recipe! 🙂

Copyright © 2015 WorldNaturelle

References:

Baldwin DIY recipe: http://www.baldwins.co.uk/blog/diy-natural-remover-spot-treatment/

Curtis, S., Johnson, F., Thomas, P. (2015). Neal’s Yard Remedies: Beauty book. London: DK.

Parragon Books (2013). The Herb Bible. China: Love food.

Leave a Reply

